Thursday, August 11, 2016

Juha Kujanpää Ensemble - Kivenpyörittäjä (Finland 2013) [Folk-Rock] @320

Composer and pianist Juha Kujanpää releases his first solo album as a composer. The album "Tales and Travels" combines two sides of Kujanpää's musicianship, acoustic Nordic folk and electric rock/jazz music, resulting in a special, distinctive musical world. "Tales and travels" is instrumental music with a large ensemble and a strong "Finnish" sound. It combines beautiful violin melodies with aggressive fuzz guitars, sounds of Finnish forests and the nights of July.

Besides Kujanpää, who plays piano, reed organ and keyboards, the core line-up of the album consists of some well-established Finnish folk players and electric rock/jazz musicians: Tommi Asplund, Esko Järvelä and Kukka Lehto (violins), Timo Kämäräinen (guitar), Tero Tuovinen (bass) and Jussi Miettola (drums).

Juha Kujanpää (b.1974) is a versatile composer and musician who operates masterfully in the no-man's land between folk music and jazz. Kujanpää's music has been released lately on Kirjava lintu: Unilintu (2012), Isis-trio: The Legend of Birth (2011) and Karuna: Hyvää matkaa/Bon Voyage (2010).

01 - Matkamusiikki - Tales and Travels
02 - Kivenpyörittäjä - Boulder Dash
03 - Suomenmaa - Samba da Finlandia
04 - Hääpolska - Wedding Polska
05 - Arkipäivän ylistys - Ode to Everyday
06 - Different Polska
07 - Islannin vesi - Iceland Water
08 - Kaukametsä - Far Forest
09 - Heinäkuun yöt - Nights of July
10 - Kaukametsä - Far Forest (reprise)

Esko Järvelä (violin)
Juha Kujanpää (piano, keyboards, composer)
Jussi Miettola (drums)
Kukka Lehto (violin)
Tero Tuovinen (bass)
Timo Kämäräinen (guitar)
Tommi Asplund (violin)

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Caprice - Kywitt! Kywitt! (RUSSIA 2009) [AvantProg] @320

Enter the crazy faerie universe of this virtuoso neoclassical band. Surrealistic, yet beautiful, 'never heard before' music blending orchestral and folk instruments with vintage analogue synthesizers.
3 years after their 'Elvenmusic III', the new ‘Caprice’ escapes from the forest.
Discover now the 'craziest and surrealistic' neoclassical masterpiece of these virtuosi musicians from Moscow Opera. Caprice music on the 'Elven trilogy' was about to translate sounds and music that Elves could create. Kywitt is different and gives a human view (sometimes hallucinations...) at the faerie world. The result is a ‘never heard before’ music, more surrealistic, more ‘Fantasy’ and also more intense.
The Genius Composer 'Anton Brejestovski' seems to play with the score and instruments like he would play with toys. He adds a lot of new musicians and instruments, like drums, electric guitar, electro, vintage analogue synthesizers blended with classical and folk instruments (Cello, violin, Oboe, clarinet, accordion, duduk, saz...).
Discover Caprice surrealistic world, 'Poppy' songs of dwarves, orcs but also beautiful and intense Elven neoclassical melodies.

01 - Dundellion Wine
02 - Monday, Tuesday
03 - Kywitt! Kywitt!
04 - Mary Morison
05 - Philomet, With Melody
06 - Christmass Lullaby
07 - Fae Fae Fae Fae Fae Fae Fae
08 - Adew Sweet Amarillis
09 - Rumpled Wille
10 - The Dusk Of Kimmeria
11 - More
12 - Peggy
13 - Garden Of Love

Inna Brejestovskaya – voice
Anton Brejestovski – music, keyboards
Vladimir Bobovnikov – flute
Anton Konchakov – clarinet
Alexey Bazhalkin – bassoon
Alexandra Korzina – violin
Tatiana Strunina – harp

Friday, January 8, 2016

Ensemble Nimbus - Key Figures (Sweden 1994) [ProgRock] @320

ENSEMBLE NIMBUS "Key Figures" are the third release from the excellent Swedish Ad Perpetuam Memoriam label (APM). They are mixing 70's influenced Zeuhl and RIO and obviously there's reminiscences to SAMLA MAMMAS MANNA, UNIVERS ZERO and VON ZAMLA. The interesting line-up includes among others Håkan Almkvist who's responsible for the compositions and the SAMLA MAMMAS MANNA drummer Hasse Bruniusson on Electric Batterie. APM is responsible for many interesting releases and this isn't an exception. Recommended!
Greger - Prog Archives

1. Slaget (The Battle) (5:04) 
2. Formaningen (The Exhortation) (4:48) 
3. Rabalder (The Commotion) (5:20)
4. Änglamakerskan (The Baby-farmer) (5:56) 
5. Skrapan (The Schramscraper) (3:29) 
6. Bo i Bingen (Lazy bones) (5:52)
7. Hönsper (The Eccentric Farmer) (3:44) 
8. Motvalskärring (Against the Stream) (4:17) 
9. Uti Svängen (Shake a Leg) (4:17)
10. Nyckelfiguren (The Key Figure) (3:26) 
11. Ekivoka Vänningar (Indecent turnings) (8:25)

Hakan Almkvist / guitar, bass, voice on "Commotion" 
Lars erik Björk / clarinet, bass-clarinet 
Hasse Bruniusson / electric batterie 
Stefan Karlsson / keyboard 
Kirk Chilton / violin

Ratings by outbrain