Thursday, January 21, 2010

Mats & Morgan Band - Thanks For Flying With Us (Sweden 2005) [Avantprog] @320

"They played unbelievable, just unbelievable." -Frank Zappa"Remarkable technical expertise and playing skills" -Bill Bruford
"Absolutely unbelievable, they drove me right out of my mind, it wasso good. Buy their albums." -Mike Keneally

Mats Oberg (keyboards) and Morgan Agren (drums) first began playing together 25 years ago (!!) when Mats was 11 and Morgan was 15. Originally very influenced by Frank Zappa, they actually played with Zappa in 1988, but while some of the Zappa influence remains, they have long since found their own voices. In the mid 90's, they began releasing CDs on Morgan's UAE label, eventually forming a stable band,which has been amazing audiences in Europe and the United States since 2001, and which consists of Mats and Robert Elovsson-keyboards, Jimmy Agren-guitar, Tommy Thordsson-bass and Morgan-drums. All players with superb playing ability, the quintet plays as a well-honed, cohesive unit, with more developed compositions than in earlier works, showing the band arriving at its own voice in progressive jazz/rock, with a modern-sounding blend of complexity, composition, chops and beats. Thanks For Flying With Us is their seventh album, their first release outside of Sweden and their first studio work since 1997. This is agreat album by an absolutely monster band who await the world's discovery!

01. Sinus
02. Thanks For Flying With Us
03. Adat Dropouts I Love You
04. Not Us
05. Jr`s Tati-Car
06. La Baratte
07. Softma
08. Wounded Bird
09. Proppeller Hast
10. Allan In The Rain
11. Wenjie
12. Please Remain Seated
13. Coco
14. Live Neef
15. Alive In Enskede
16. Ivan

Jimmy Agren: guitar, dobro, bass guitar
Robert Elovsson: clarinet, keyboards
Mats Oberg: piano, keyboards
Morgan Agren: keyboards, drums, programming
Tommy Tordsson: bass


Ratings by outbrain